Home > Motivation > Six virtues a medicare giver must possess : APJ Abdul Kalam

Six virtues a medicare giver must possess : APJ Abdul Kalam

July 18, 2012

On November 17th, 2008, I visited Nepal to preside as the Chief Guest at the yearly convocation ceremony of Kathmandu University. During my brief visit to Nepal, I met Ka-Nying Shedrub Ling Monastery in Boudhanath, Kathmandu. I would like to share an experience with Choakyi Nyima Rinpoche, the Chief Monk in Kathmandu and a medical researcher. After nearly a kilometer of walk, I reached the white Kumbha where the chief Monk and his disciples were waiting to receive me. After reception the Chief Monk said, let us go to our study room and I followed him. He climbed the first floor, the second floor, the third floor, the fourth floor and the fifth floor, just like a young boy. Probably the life style has a positive impact on the mind and body. All along I was following and following.

When I reached his chamber, I saw a laboratory and a spiritual environment over looking the Himalayas. What surprised me was his research students come from different parts of the world. Particularly he introduced me to his co-author David R Shlim, MD who is working on a research area, Medicine and Compassion. The Chief Monk Choakyi Nyima Rinpoche and myself exchanged few books. The Monk has written with Dr. David R. Shlim a book titled “Medicine and Compassion”. I liked this book and read it during my journey from Katmandu to Delhi.

This book gives six important virtues, which a medical practitioner has to possess towards their patients.

First virtue is generosity;
the second virtue is pure ethics;
third is tolerance,
fourth is perseverance,
fifth is cultivating pure concentration and
the sixth virtue is to be intelligent.

These virtues will empower the caregivers with a humane heart. Particularly these are the virtues, which may be the guiding force to be emulated by the medical practitioners, healthcare professionals and nurses and paramedical staff across the world.

Categories: Motivation
